Annals of the National Academy of Medical Sciences (India)

Dr. C.S. Bhaskaran

MD, FRCPath (Lond), FICPath, DSc (h.c.) NTR Univ Health Sc., A.P. FAMS





Dr. C.S. Bhaskaran

MD, FRCPath (Lond), FICPath, DSc (h.c.) NTR Univ Health Sc., A.P. FAMS

Dr. C.S. Bhaskaran was installed as the 23rd President of the National Academy of Medical Sciences at the Annual Convocation of the Academy held at Chennai on October 13, 2012. He brings to the Academy richness of experience, profound equanimity and a deep spirit of humality.

Dr. C.S. Bhaskaran is a renowned Microbiologist and a Medical Educationist. Born on December 9, 1932, he graduated in Medicine from Madras University, and took M.D. (Bact & Path) from Andhra University. He had advanced training in Microbiology in London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London. He served as Professor of Microbiology for over 2 decades and worked as Additional Director and Director of Medical Education, Director, Institute of Preventive Medicine and Public Health Laboratory Services and Vice Chancellor of N.T.R. University of Health Sciences in Andhra Pradesh. He is an outstanding teacher, excellent research worker and an able administrator. He has trained several postgraduate students and published 40 research papers in journals of good standing. His main fields of interest in Microbiology have been Nosocomial and Urinary Tract Infections with special reference to characterization of Staphylococcus aureus and Escherichia coli.

He is the recipient of Fellowships of The Royal College of Pathologists, London; National Academy of Medical Sciences (India); Association of Basic Medical Sciences of India; Indian College of Pathologists; and A.P. Academy of Sciences. He was conferred Honorary Doctorate in Science (DSc. h.c.) from N.T.R. University of Health Sciences. He also received Dr. B.C. Roy National Award in the category of Eminent Medical Teacher (MCI), Dr. H.I. Jhala Award (IAMM), Dr. Siva Reddy Award (APSA), Dr. Shankar Benerjee Memorial Award (2001) (APIAPM), and Dr. U.C. Chaturvedi Life Time Achievement (IAMM) award. He delivered Dr. Govinda Reddy Oration (NTR UHS), Dr. V.R. Khanolkar Oration (1999-2000) & Dr. B.K. Anand Oration (2009-10) of the NAMS and Dr. Lalitha Kameswaran Oration (Dr. MGR Tamil Nadu Medical University). He was associated with several National and International Organizations such as MCI, ICMR, NBE, Planning Commission and Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt. of India and WHO. As a recognition of his professional excellence and leadership, he was previously elected as the President of the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists.

Having been elected as a Fellow in 1976, Dr. C.S. Bhaskaran since his

remarkable journey of four decades up to his installation as the President of the National Academy of Medical Sciences, is characterized by a deep sense of commitment, courage and conviction. He was elected Emeritus Professor of the Academy in recognition of his proven track record of professional excellence and subject expertise of a high order. He has served the Academy with distinction on several occasions: Council Member (1990-93, 1994-97, 2000-2003, 2006-2009, 2009-2012); Member, Credentials Committee (1998-2000); and Vice-President of the Academy (2002-03).

We warmly felicitate Dr. C.S. Bhaskaran, our new President, and wish him an academically rewarding triennium.

Prof. J.S. Bajaj Emeritus President

A8375